It was election Day Tuesday.  In Otsego County Board races, District 2 Republican James Powers won 653 to 538 against Democrat Theresa Winchester. Democrat Andrew Stammel claimed the 4th district seat 562-527 over Republican Janet Hurley Quackenbush. The 5th district race went to Republican Margaret Kennedy 782 to 539 against Democrat Edward Lentz. In the 8th district, Democrat Andrew Marietta had 515 votes compared to 429 for Republican Rick Hulse Jr.  Republican Keith McCarty captured District 9, 581 to 234 over Daniel Sullivan. Republican Daniel Wilber defeated Democrat Russ Bachman 456 to 223 in District 10. District 11 went to Democrat Gary Koutnick 299 to 113 over Republican James Phillips. And in District 12 Republican Craig Gelbsman beat Democrat Amy Hornburg Heilveil 167-130.

Click here to get all Otsego County election results.

New York voters have elected five new State Lawmakers — three of whom will replace politicians convicted of corruption. In a Southern Tier Senate race, Broome County Undersheriff Fred Akshar, a Republican, beat Democrat Barbara Fiala, a former motor vehicles commissioner. Akshar replaces Republican Thomas Libous, who was convicted of lying to the FBI.

Closer to home, in City of Oneonta Common Council races, Paul Van der Sommen won the Ward 1 race 190 to 94 against Maureen Hennessy. While two other common council contests have been determined too close to call, with absentee ballots still playing a factor. Michelle Osterhoudt leads Ward 4 by one vote 92 to 91 over Jeff Back. While Laura Dohner is in third with 11 tallies. In Ward 5, Democrat Dana Marie Levinson currently has 92 votes compared to 87 for Republican Madolyn Palmer.